Books for Boys Reviews

While searching for book blogs for submitting my own works, I realized that the majority of middle grade/young adult blogs out there were very female-centric. This is in no way a critique or complaint, but it led me to think that someone should create a blog that reviews books that can intrigue and engage young male readers.

*I am well aware that books, like any other form of entertainment/color/toy/etc. do not have specific genders. However, as a father of three boys and a former high school English teacher, I know firsthand the challenges of getting young boys to read versus girls (on a “generalized” level). This blog isn’t to debate the genderization of objects, simply to try to highlight books that may appeal to younger male readers. If you are interested in learning about some of the research behind the reading success gap between genders, check out this report by the Brookings Institute.*

Reviews are posted in reverse chronological order. If you are interested in recommending a book for me to review, please check out my Review Policy.

DATE REVIEWED – BOOK TITLE (SERIES) – AUTHOR

September 24, 2018 – Mogworld by Yahtzee Croshaw
September 17, 2018 – What Goes Up by Katie Kennedy
September 10, 2018 – Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

August 27, 2018 – Tales of the Peculiar by Ransom Riggs
August 13, 2018 – Cinder (The Lunar Chronicles, #1) by Marissa Meyer
August 06, 2018 – Ever Upward (The Excelsior Journey, #2) by George Sirois

April 09, 2018 – Batman: The Killing Joke by Alan Moore

March 19, 2018 – The Belch Park Field Trip (Chrome Junction Academy, #3) by Andrew Mackay
March 12, 2018 – Barry and the Chronicles by Alun Davies
March 05, 2018 – SpeedRunner (Tower of Babel, #1) by Adam Elliott

February 26, 2018 – Sidekick (The Red Raptor Files, #1)  by Chrisopher J. Valin
February 19, 2018 – Curiouser and Curiouser: Steampunk Alice in Wonderland (Steampunk Fairy Tales) by Melanie Karsak
February 12, 2018 – Fireborn (Fireborn Trilogy, #1) by LJ Clarkson

January 29, 2018 – Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1) by Kate Milford
January 22, 2018 – The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) by Jonathan Stroud

December 18, 2017 – Magic Marks the Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, #1) by Caroline Carlson
December 11, 2017 – How to be a Supervillain by Michael Fry
December 04, 2017 – Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Librarians, #1) by Brandon Sanderson

October 30, 2017 – The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
October 23, 2017 – Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Castle #1) by Diana Wynne Jones
October 16, 2017 – Neuromancer by William Gibson
October 09, 2017 – The Golden Compass/Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman
October 02, 2017 – Dungeon Born (Divine Dungeon #1) by Dakota Krout

September 25, 2017 – Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children (Miss Peregreine’s Peculiar Children #1) by Ransom Riggs
September 18, 2017 – Console Wars by Blake J. Harris
September 11, 2017 – Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim #1) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
September 04, 2017 – Nate Rocks The World (Nate Rocks, #1) by Karen Pokras Toz

August 28, 2017 – Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) by Kira A. McFadden
August 21, 2017 – Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) by Eoin Colfer
August 14, 2017 – Excelsior (The Excelsior Journey #1) by George Sirois
August 07, 2017 – A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet #1) by Madeleine L’Engle

July 31, 2017 – P.A.W.S. (The P.A.W.S. Saga #1) by Debbie Manber Kupfer
July 24, 2017 – Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman
July 17, 2017 – Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, #1) by Neal Shusterman
July 10, 2017 – Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White by Michael Tisserand
July 03, 2017 – Off To Be The Wizard (Magic 2.0, #1) by Scott Meyer

June 26, 2017 – The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster
June 19, 2017 – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
June 12, 2017 – The Ghost in the Crystal (School of the Ages #1) by Matt Posner
June 05, 2017 – Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron

May 29, 2017 – Magnus Opum by Jonathan Gould
May 22, 2017 – Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson
May 15, 2017 – Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary

Review Policy/Rating System

Share:FacebookTwitterGoogle+emailTumblrPinterestReview Policy (Updated 5/9/17) First and foremost, let me remind you that this part of my blog is designed for an explicit purpose of highlighting middle grade/young adult books that may appeal to boys. See my Reviews page for further explanation of that concept. Aside from that, I do not have very many limitations as …