Books for Boys Reviews

Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on TumblrPin on Pinterest

While searching for book blogs for submitting my own works, I realized that the majority of middle grade/young adult blogs out there were very female-centric. This is in no way a critique or complaint, but it led me to think that someone should create a blog that reviews books that can intrigue and engage young male readers.

*I am well aware that books, like any other form of entertainment/color/toy/etc. do not have specific genders. However, as a father of three boys and a former high school English teacher, I know firsthand the challenges of getting young boys to read versus girls (on a “generalized” level). This blog isn’t to debate the genderization of objects, simply to try to highlight books that may appeal to younger male readers. If you are interested in learning about some of the research behind the reading success gap between genders, check out this report by the Brookings Institute.*

For now I intend to simply list these reviews in the chronological order, but if things get out of hand I will consider alternative ordering systems. If you are interested in recommending a book for me to review, please check out my Review Policy.

DATE REVIEWED – BOOK TITLE (SERIES) – AUTHOR

May 15, 2017 – Dear Mr. Henshaw by Beverly Cleary
May 22, 2017 – Steelheart (Reckoners #1) by Brandon Sanderson
May 29, 2017 – Magnus Opum by Jonathan Gould

June 05, 2017 – Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron
June 12, 2017 – The Ghost in the Crystal (School of the Ages #1) by Matt Posner
June 19, 2017 – Ready Player One by Ernest Cline
June 26, 2017 – The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster

July 03, 2017 – Off To Be The Wizard (Magic 2.0, #1) by Scott Meyer
July 10, 2017 – Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White by Michael Tisserand
July 17, 2017 – Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, #1) by Neal Shusterman
July 24, 2017 – Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman
July 31, 2017 – P.A.W.S. (The P.A.W.S. Saga #1) by Debbie Manber Kupfer

August 07, 2017 – A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet #1) by Madeleine L’Engle
August 14, 2017 – Excelsior (The Excelsior Journey #1) by George Sirois
August 21, 2017 – Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl #1) by Eoin Colfer
August 28, 2017 – Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) by Kira A. McFadden

September 04, 2017 – Nate Rocks The World (Nate Rocks, #1) by Karen Pokras Toz
September 11, 2017 – Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life (Scott Pilgrim #1) by Bryan Lee O’Malley
September 18, 2017 – Console Wars by Blake J. Harris

Review Policy/Rating System

Share:Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Email this to someoneShare on TumblrPin on Pinterest

Share:Review Policy (Updated 5/9/17) First and foremost, let me remind you that this part of my blog is designed for an explicit purpose of highlighting middle grade/young adult books that may appeal to boys. See my Reviews page for further explanation of that concept. Aside from that, I do not have very many limitations as …

View page »