fbpx

Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White by Michael Tisserand, Books for Boys Review

Introduction

Title: Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White
Author: Michael Tisserand
Genre: Non-Fiction, Biography
Release Date: December 6, 2016
Synopsis (from Amazon):

In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged—and the deep secret he explored through his art.

The creator of the greatest comic strip in history finally gets his due—in an eye-opening biography that lays bare the truth about his art, his heritage, and his life on America’s color line. A native of nineteenth-century New Orleans, George Herriman came of age as an illustrator, journalist, and cartoonist in the boomtown of Los Angeles and the wild metropolis of New York. Appearing in the biggest newspapers of the early twentieth century—including those owned by William Randolph Hearst—Herriman’s Krazy Kat cartoons quickly propelled him to fame. Although fitfully popular with readers of the period, his work has been widely credited with elevating cartoons from daily amusements to anarchic art.

Herriman used his work to explore the human condition, creating a modernist fantasia that was inspired by the landscapes he discovered in his travels—from chaotic urban life to the Beckett-like desert vistas of the Southwest. Yet underlying his own life—and often emerging from the contours of his very public art—was a very private secret: known as “the Greek” for his swarthy complexion and curly hair, Herriman was actually African American, born to a prominent Creole family that hid its racial identity in the dangerous days of Reconstruction.

Drawing on exhaustive original research into Herriman’s family history, interviews with surviving friends and family, and deep analysis of the artist’s work and surviving written records, Michael Tisserand brings this little-understood figure to vivid life, paying homage to a visionary artist who helped shape modern culture.

Why I Think Boys Anyone Interested In Cartoons May Enjoy This

Truth is, this book does not really fit into my “Books for Boys” format but it was just so good I wanted to give it some space in review form. So I fixed the section heading above to reflect that. While the book is sold and set up under the premise of exploring George Herriman’s questionable ethnicity (he could *not* have been ‘openly’ black and done what he did with his life in the era he did it) and how it connects to his main legacy’s genderfluidity (I discovered this book via a New Yorker article discussing just that), it is so much more than that. In fact, this book should serve as a primer to the history of cartooning and even the rise of animated cartoons for anyone interested in either.

Even deeper than that, Tisserand dives into American history such as the rise in prominence of New Orleans (where Herriman is originally from), the birth of Los Angeles (and ultimately Hollywood), and the racial barriers in boxing (and ultimate crowning of the first black heavyweight boxer Jack Johnson). While this feels like a grandiose adventure for the biography of a humble cartoonist, Tisserand makes it all fit together seamlessly. Whenever he feels the reader needs more context to understand the gravity of a situation or Herriman’s involvement, he goes just far enough down the “background info” rabbit hole to set the context but pulls the reader back before he or she gets lost on a tangent.

To give an example of just *how* thorough Tisserand is in this biography, the text of the book (hardcover) is 439 pages. His notes, bibliography, and index run from page 447-545. Even more amazingly, there is so much background info surrounding Herriman’s rise to “prominence” that the introduction of Krazy Kat, Herriman’s main legacy, didn’t even come around until halfway through the book, even though there are Krazy comics sprinkled throughout the book (as well as other Herriman works from throughout his career). Another nice element to the writing is that, though it’s obvious Tisserand thinks very highly of Herriman, it falls far short of a hero worship biography. He presents Herriman, to the best of his ability, as his contemporaries saw him (which, at times, was almost hero worship itself).

Content/Appropriateness

It’s a biography about a cartoonist. Spoiler: he dies in the end. From a content standpoint, it’s more than appropriate for anyone who would want to learn more about the history of cartooning in America (with some side lessons on racial relations in the early 20th century as well). Tisserand writes matter-of-factly about minstrel shows and blackface and other common vaudeville entertainment in the time period and does a good job of reserving judgement, only discussing it when it is relevant to Herriman himself, who lived as a white man even if he had some black heritage.

As any in depth non-fiction work can be, the language and context is deep and complex, much like Herriman’s work itself. Tisserand does a fantastic job of making century-plus old stories feel accessible to the reader so I would think an interested high schooler would be able to handle this book without much issue.

Rating

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound | iBooks | Google Play | Kobo

Comments

comments

2 comments

  1. Excellent book. One of my favorites. One of the few books these days that I read cover to cover without getting bored in the middle!

    1. Agreed, Tom! I find it rare for a biography to read like a “page-turning” novel. This book nailed it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Il calo della libido è una condizione legata certamente alla diminuzione e al fisiologico esaurimento degli estrogeni e degli altri ormoni come acquistare viagra sessuali prodotti nella donna in età fertile, ma dobbiamo considerare che la componente psicologica incide non poco sulla sfera sessuale cialis in italia durante questa fase. Per questo si è sentita la necessità alla luce delle nuove conoscenze di sviluppare una campagna informativa di kamagra in italia educazione sessuale e relazionale per i giovani affinché abbiano un punto di riferimento per i loro dubbi e per gli adulti per colmare i vuoti acquisto cialis farmacia italiana che la vita sociale crea ogni giorno. La sua caratteristica è infatti quella di aumentare il flusso di sangue ai genitali e stimolare l’energia fisica e mentale.

Har du för tidig utlösning endast med en viss partner eller med flera personer? Lägg därtill bestalla kamagra frånvaron av erotiska och sexuella tankar samt en ovilja att inleda sexuella aktiviteter eller svara på Viagra Super Active Sverige sexuella inviter. Precis som oxytocin verkar frisättningen av vasopressin under porranvändning och vill köpa viagra masturbation för att cementera en persons anknytning till porren. Stress är en vanligt förekommande kjøpe Brand Viagra i Sverige bidragande faktor till många sexuella problem. Hos kvinnor är det vanligt att slidans slemhinna blir torrare och skörare.

Les politiques prioritaires », grands plans et autres mobilisations générales en faveur des territoires en difficulté, célèbrent avec une constance régulière le triomphe de la levitra generique pas cher puissance publique. Les gélules Go Viril sont conçues entièrement avec des ingrédients naturels et ne contiennent aucune substance chimique ou nocive pour votre santé. La Voiture Acheter Kamagra Livraison 24h moyenne d’occasion 2017 se rapproche de la Voiture moyenne neuve, dont le portrait-robot a été révélé dans L’argus Pro du 17 mai dernier. C’est au fil de mes recherches que levitra en ligne pas cher j’ai trouvé le Titan Gel, un produit tout simplement incroyable pour augmenter son pénis. Passé les premières impressions de lever du stress, l’alcool et les drogues, ont une vente de viagra sans ordonnance en france action cérébrale néfaste sur la commande de l’érection. Le jeune Colombien avait déjà livré une intense bataille avec le Slovène Primoz Roglic à l'occasion du Tour de Romandie.

Les hommes qui ont eu une fracture du bassin associée à un traumatisme de l’urètre souffrent de dysfonction érectile par atteinte du système kamagra en ligne vasculo-nerveux local. Dès leur enfance les garçons sont conditionnés de multiples façons à être physiquement plus productifs que les filles. Les levitra 20 prix pharmacie FMN cherchent à échapper à toute réglementation publique dans une économie mondialisée. un Edward torse nu, la peau diaphane scintillant au Cialis Prix France Pharmacie soleil, s'apprête à offrir son corps en sacrifice aux humains, tandis qu'une procession de figurants fait référence au Calvaire. Lors de mon dernier lasix pas cher en ligne test d'effort en 2012, j'avais obtenu une PMA (Puissance Maximale Aérobie) de 310 watts. on parle donc du périmètre du pénis, précise le Dr Marc Abécassis.

generique24.com pharmaceutique en ligne est ouverte 24/7

https://claud-acheter.com/category/pharmacie/