fbpx

Magic Marks The Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League Of Pirates, #1) by Caroline Carlson, Books for Boys Review

Introduction

Title: Magic Marks the Spot (Very  Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, #1)
Author: Caroline Carlson
Genre: Fantasy, Adventure
Release Date: September 10, 2013
Synopsis (from Amazon):

Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society.

Hilary Westfield has always dreamed of being a pirate. She can tread water for thirty-seven minutes. She can tie a knot faster than a fleet of sailors, and she already owns a rather pointy sword.

There’s only one problem: The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates refuses to let any girl join their ranks of scourges and scallywags.

But Hilary is not the kind of girl to take no for answer. To escape a life of petticoats and politeness at her stuffy finishing school, Hilary sets out in search of her own seaworthy adventure, where she gets swept up in a madcap quest involving a map without an X, a magical treasure that likely doesn’t exist, a talking gargoyle, a crew of misfit scallywags, and the most treacherous—and unexpected—villain on the High Seas.

Written with uproarious wit and an inviting storyteller tone, the first book in Caroline Carlson’s quirky seafaring series is a piratical tale like no other.

Why I Think Boys May Enjoy This

Pirates. And Magic. That’s really all I have to say to start off this review. Carlson has done a fantastic job of taking the tried and true stereotype of Victorian-era pirates that has so immersed popular culture that if you simply say “pirate” you imagine just the type of pirates she presents in this book and adding both a magical and whimsical element. This book reminded me a lot of Muppet Treasure Island, a story where pirates are both “fun” but still “bad” at the same time. Think Captain Jack Sparrow from Pirates of the Caribbean… he’s not a “good” guy but still good enough to be a protagonist.

Hilary is a wonderfully pleasant main character. She is a proper “lady” with all of her manners, only she wants to be a pirate. With her best friend The Gargoyle at her side, nothing is going to deter her from completing her goal. She maintains all the proper decorum one would find in a Bronte novel while casually discussing running people through and hunting for buried treasure. The combination of Elizabeth etiquette and piracy is just delightful.

The insertion of magic in this world, though, is what really brings a unique element to this book. Not only does it set up one of the coolest unexpected twists, but it also gives a much more important facet to the world of pirates hunting treasure than just greed and accumulation of trinkets and gold. Couple that with the wonderful Gargoyle character, and this book is just magical good fun.

Content/Appropriateness

Appropriately targeted towards a middle grade and up audience, Magic Marks the Spot has zero concerns. Akin to my references above, the dangerous aspect of piracy is mostly muted for the reader (there are off-screen deaths and plenty of mentions of being run through and walking the plank, but no real violence or death on the page). Even the biggest swordfights and pirate battles end up comical and cartoonish in nature and nothing is scary. There are no language concerns (with any references to cursing being vague and without specific dialogue repeated) and sex isn’t even on the radar.

Rating

Buy Links

Amazon | Barnes & Noble | IndieBound iBooks Kobo

Comments

comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Il calo della libido è una condizione legata certamente alla diminuzione e al fisiologico esaurimento degli estrogeni e degli altri ormoni come acquistare viagra sessuali prodotti nella donna in età fertile, ma dobbiamo considerare che la componente psicologica incide non poco sulla sfera sessuale cialis in italia durante questa fase. Per questo si è sentita la necessità alla luce delle nuove conoscenze di sviluppare una campagna informativa di kamagra in italia educazione sessuale e relazionale per i giovani affinché abbiano un punto di riferimento per i loro dubbi e per gli adulti per colmare i vuoti acquisto cialis farmacia italiana che la vita sociale crea ogni giorno. La sua caratteristica è infatti quella di aumentare il flusso di sangue ai genitali e stimolare l’energia fisica e mentale.

Har du för tidig utlösning endast med en viss partner eller med flera personer? Lägg därtill bestalla kamagra frånvaron av erotiska och sexuella tankar samt en ovilja att inleda sexuella aktiviteter eller svara på Viagra Super Active Sverige sexuella inviter. Precis som oxytocin verkar frisättningen av vasopressin under porranvändning och vill köpa viagra masturbation för att cementera en persons anknytning till porren. Stress är en vanligt förekommande kjøpe Brand Viagra i Sverige bidragande faktor till många sexuella problem. Hos kvinnor är det vanligt att slidans slemhinna blir torrare och skörare.

Les politiques prioritaires », grands plans et autres mobilisations générales en faveur des territoires en difficulté, célèbrent avec une constance régulière le triomphe de la levitra generique pas cher puissance publique. Les gélules Go Viril sont conçues entièrement avec des ingrédients naturels et ne contiennent aucune substance chimique ou nocive pour votre santé. La Voiture Acheter Kamagra Livraison 24h moyenne d’occasion 2017 se rapproche de la Voiture moyenne neuve, dont le portrait-robot a été révélé dans L’argus Pro du 17 mai dernier. C’est au fil de mes recherches que levitra en ligne pas cher j’ai trouvé le Titan Gel, un produit tout simplement incroyable pour augmenter son pénis. Passé les premières impressions de lever du stress, l’alcool et les drogues, ont une vente de viagra sans ordonnance en france action cérébrale néfaste sur la commande de l’érection. Le jeune Colombien avait déjà livré une intense bataille avec le Slovène Primoz Roglic à l'occasion du Tour de Romandie.

Les hommes qui ont eu une fracture du bassin associée à un traumatisme de l’urètre souffrent de dysfonction érectile par atteinte du système kamagra en ligne vasculo-nerveux local. Dès leur enfance les garçons sont conditionnés de multiples façons à être physiquement plus productifs que les filles. Les levitra 20 prix pharmacie FMN cherchent à échapper à toute réglementation publique dans une économie mondialisée. un Edward torse nu, la peau diaphane scintillant au Cialis Prix France Pharmacie soleil, s'apprête à offrir son corps en sacrifice aux humains, tandis qu'une procession de figurants fait référence au Calvaire. Lors de mon dernier lasix pas cher en ligne test d'effort en 2012, j'avais obtenu une PMA (Puissance Maximale Aérobie) de 310 watts. on parle donc du périmètre du pénis, précise le Dr Marc Abécassis.

generique24.com pharmaceutique en ligne est ouverte 24/7

https://claud-acheter.com/category/pharmacie/