Tag: 10+

Feb 12

Fireborn (Fireborn Trilogy, #1) by LJ Clarkson, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: Fireborn (Fireborn Trilogy, #1) Author: LJ Clarkson Genre: Urban Fantasy Release Date: August 18, 2017 Synopsis (from Amazon): Paranormal buff Andy’s dreams come true when he becomes the newest member of the Guild of Shadows: an organization tasked with protecting the Earth from supernatural threats. In the dusty shelves of the Guild, he …

Continue reading

Jan 22

The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) by Jonathan Stroud, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) Author: Jonathan Stroud Genre: Fantasy, Alt History Release Date: September 2003 Synopsis (from Amazon): Nathaniel is a magician’s apprentice, taking his first lessons in the arts of magic. But when a devious hot-shot wizard named Simon Lovelace ruthlessly humiliates Nathaniel in front of his elders, Nathaniel …

Continue reading

Dec 18

Magic Marks The Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League Of Pirates, #1) by Caroline Carlson, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: Magic Marks the Spot (Very  Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, #1) Author: Caroline Carlson Genre: Fantasy, Adventure Release Date: September 10, 2013 Synopsis (from Amazon): Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series …

Continue reading

Dec 04

Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) by Brandon Sanderson, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) Author: Brandon Sanderson Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: October 1, 2007 Synopsis (from Amazon): Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians is the first adventure in a fantasy series for young readers by the #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson. The fast-paced and funny …

Continue reading

Oct 30

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: The Graveyard Book Author: Neil Gaiman Genre: Fantasy Release Date: September 30, 2008 Synopsis (from Amazon): Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place—he’s the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his …

Continue reading

Oct 23

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Castle #1) Author: Diana Wynne Jones Genre: Fantasy Release Date: April 1986 Synopsis (from Amazon): Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the …

Continue reading

Oct 09

Golden Compass/Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: The Golden Compass/Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) Author: Philip Pullman Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: July 1995 Synopsis (from Amazon): Lyra is rushing to the cold, far North, where witch clans and armored bears rule. North, where the Gobblers take the children they steal–including her friend Roger. North, where her fearsome uncle Asriel …

Continue reading

Aug 28

Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) by Kira A. McFadden, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) Author: Kira A. McFadden Genre: Fantasy Release Date: March 21, 2015 Synopsis (from Amazon): Frendyl Krune wants to be a knight, to serve his family and his people and never fear what may come for him. His goal, however, slips from his …

Continue reading

Jul 17

Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy #1) by Neal Shusterman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, #1) Author: Neal Shusterman Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Release Date: October 1, 2006 Synopsis (from Amazon): Nick and Allie don’t survive the car accident, but their souls don’t exactly get where they’re supposed to go either. Instead, they’re caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as …

Continue reading

Jun 26

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: The Phantom Tollbooth Author: Norton Juster Illustrator: Jules Feiffer Genre: Fantasy Release Date: 1961 Synopsis (from Amazon): For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the …

Continue reading