Tag: Fantasy

Jan 29

Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1) by Kate Milford, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1) Author: Kate Milford Genre: Mystery Release Date: August 26, 2014 Synopsis (from Amazon): It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing. But on the first icy night of …

Continue reading

Jan 22

The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) by Jonathan Stroud, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) Author: Jonathan Stroud Genre: Fantasy, Alt History Release Date: September 2003 Synopsis (from Amazon): Nathaniel is a magician’s apprentice, taking his first lessons in the arts of magic. But when a devious hot-shot wizard named Simon Lovelace ruthlessly humiliates Nathaniel in front of his elders, Nathaniel …

Continue reading

Dec 18

Magic Marks The Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League Of Pirates, #1) by Caroline Carlson, Books for Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: Magic Marks the Spot (Very  Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, #1) Author: Caroline Carlson Genre: Fantasy, Adventure Release Date: September 10, 2013 Synopsis (from Amazon): Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series …

Continue reading

Dec 11

How To Be A Supervillain by Michael Fry, Books For Boys Review

Share:Introduction Title: How To Be A Supervillian Author & Illustrator: Michael Fry Genre: Fantasy Release Date: October 1, 2007 Synopsis (from Amazon): Victor Spoil comes from a long line of famous supervillains and he’s fully expected to join their ranks one day. But to his family’s utter disappointment, Victor doesn’t have a single bad-guy bone …

Continue reading

Dec 04

Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) by Brandon Sanderson, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) Author: Brandon Sanderson Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: October 1, 2007 Synopsis (from Amazon): Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians is the first adventure in a fantasy series for young readers by the #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson. The fast-paced and funny …

Continue reading

Oct 30

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: The Graveyard Book Author: Neil Gaiman Genre: Fantasy Release Date: September 30, 2008 Synopsis (from Amazon): Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place—he’s the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his …

Continue reading

Oct 23

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Castle #1) Author: Diana Wynne Jones Genre: Fantasy Release Date: April 1986 Synopsis (from Amazon): Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the …

Continue reading

Oct 09

Golden Compass/Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) by Philip Pullman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: The Golden Compass/Northern Lights (His Dark Materials #1) Author: Philip Pullman Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: July 1995 Synopsis (from Amazon): Lyra is rushing to the cold, far North, where witch clans and armored bears rule. North, where the Gobblers take the children they steal–including her friend Roger. North, where her fearsome uncle Asriel …

Continue reading

Aug 28

Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) by Kira A. McFadden, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Frendyl Krune and the Blood of the Sun (Amüli Chronicles #1) Author: Kira A. McFadden Genre: Fantasy Release Date: March 21, 2015 Synopsis (from Amazon): Frendyl Krune wants to be a knight, to serve his family and his people and never fear what may come for him. His goal, however, slips from his …

Continue reading

Jul 24

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman, Books for Boys Review

Share: Introduction Title: Odd and the Frost Giants Author: Neil Gaiman Illustrator: Chris Riddell Genre: Fantasy, Mythology Release Date: October 4, 2016 Synopsis (from Amazon): Written by New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman and illustrated by UK Laureate Chris Riddell, this new edition of the thrilling, wintry Nordic tale weaves a truly magical story of legend …

Continue reading