Brave New Girls: Tales of Heroines Who Hack Cover Reveal!

Welcome to Toonopolis, The Blog! Subscribe to email updates to make sure you don’t miss any reviews, giveaways, promotions, or updates about my work. Thanks for visiting! BRAVE NEW GIRLS: TALES OF HEROINES WHO HACK is a YA sci-fi anthology (edited by sci-fi authors Paige Daniels and Mary Fan) featuring stories about girls in STEM …

Continue reading

Curiouser and Curiouser: Steampunk Alice in Wonderland (Steampunk Fairy Tales) by Melanie Karsak, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Curiouser and Curiouser: Steampunk Alice in Wonderland (Steampunk Fairy Tales) Author: Melanie Karsak Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: January 11, 2018 Synopsis (from Amazon): To save the Hatter, Alice must bargain with the one man she despises so much that she might still love him. Alice thought she’d turned over a new leaf. …

Continue reading

Fireborn (Fireborn Trilogy, #1) by LJ Clarkson, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Fireborn (Fireborn Trilogy, #1) Author: LJ Clarkson Genre: Urban Fantasy Release Date: August 18, 2017 Synopsis (from Amazon): Paranormal buff Andy’s dreams come true when he becomes the newest member of the Guild of Shadows: an organization tasked with protecting the Earth from supernatural threats. In the dusty shelves of the Guild, he …

Continue reading

Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1) by Kate Milford, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Greenglass House (Greenglass House, #1) Author: Kate Milford Genre: Mystery Release Date: August 26, 2014 Synopsis (from Amazon): It’s wintertime at Greenglass House. The creaky smuggler’s inn is always quiet during this season, and twelve-year-old Milo, the innkeepers’ adopted son, plans to spend his holidays relaxing. But on the first icy night of …

Continue reading

The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) by Jonathan Stroud, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: The Amulet of Samarkand (Bartimaeus Trilogy, #1) Author: Jonathan Stroud Genre: Fantasy, Alt History Release Date: September 2003 Synopsis (from Amazon): Nathaniel is a magician’s apprentice, taking his first lessons in the arts of magic. But when a devious hot-shot wizard named Simon Lovelace ruthlessly humiliates Nathaniel in front of his elders, Nathaniel …

Continue reading

Magic Marks The Spot (Very Nearly Honorable League Of Pirates, #1) by Caroline Carlson, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Magic Marks the Spot (Very  Nearly Honorable League of Pirates, #1) Author: Caroline Carlson Genre: Fantasy, Adventure Release Date: September 10, 2013 Synopsis (from Amazon): Pirates! Magic! Treasure! A gargoyle? Caroline Carlson’s hilarious tween novel The Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates #1: Magic Marks the Spot is perfect for fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series …

Continue reading

How To Be A Supervillain by Michael Fry, Books For Boys Review

Introduction Title: How To Be A Supervillian Author & Illustrator: Michael Fry Genre: Fantasy Release Date: October 1, 2007 Synopsis (from Amazon): Victor Spoil comes from a long line of famous supervillains and he’s fully expected to join their ranks one day. But to his family’s utter disappointment, Victor doesn’t have a single bad-guy bone …

Continue reading

Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) by Brandon Sanderson, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians (Alcatraz vs. The Evil Librarians #1) Author: Brandon Sanderson Genre: Fantasy, Steampunk Release Date: October 1, 2007 Synopsis (from Amazon): Alcatraz Versus the Evil Librarians is the first adventure in a fantasy series for young readers by the #1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson. The fast-paced and funny series …

Continue reading

The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: The Graveyard Book Author: Neil Gaiman Genre: Fantasy Release Date: September 30, 2008 Synopsis (from Amazon): Bod is an unusual boy who inhabits an unusual place—he’s the only living resident of a graveyard. Raised from infancy by the ghosts, werewolves, and other cemetery denizens, Bod has learned the antiquated customs of his guardians’ …

Continue reading

Howl’s Moving Castle by Diana Wynne Jones, Books for Boys Review

Introduction Title: Howl’s Moving Castle (Howl’s Castle #1) Author: Diana Wynne Jones Genre: Fantasy Release Date: April 1986 Synopsis (from Amazon): Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch …

Continue reading