fbpx

Category: Book Reviews

A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet #1) by Madeleine L’Engle, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: A Wrinkle in Time (Time Quintet #1) Author: Madeleine L’Engle Genre: Science Fiction Release Date: 1963 Synopsis (from Amazon): It was a dark and stormy night; Meg Murry, her small brother Charles Wallace, and her mother had come down to the kitchen for a midnight snack when they were upset by the …

Continue reading

P.A.W.S. (The P.A.W.S. Saga #1) by Debbie Manber Kupfer, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: P.A.W.S. (The P.A.W.S. Saga #1) Author: Debbie Manber Kupfer Genre: Urban Fantasy Release Date: September 1, 2015 Synopsis (from Amazon): When Miri receives a silver cat charm from her omama, Celia, on the night before Celia dies she has no idea that the charm holds a secret, a powerful magic that saved …

Continue reading

Odd and the Frost Giants by Neil Gaiman, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: Odd and the Frost Giants Author: Neil Gaiman Illustrator: Chris Riddell Genre: Fantasy, Mythology Release Date: October 4, 2016 Synopsis (from Amazon): Written by New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman and illustrated by UK Laureate Chris Riddell, this new edition of the thrilling, wintry Nordic tale weaves a truly magical story of legend …

Continue reading

Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy #1) by Neal Shusterman, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: Everlost (The Skinjacker Trilogy, #1) Author: Neal Shusterman Genre: Fantasy, Paranormal Release Date: October 1, 2006 Synopsis (from Amazon): Nick and Allie don’t survive the car accident, but their souls don’t exactly get where they’re supposed to go either. Instead, they’re caught halfway between life and death, in a sort of limbo known as …

Continue reading

Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White by Michael Tisserand, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: Krazy: George Herriman, A Life In Black And White Author: Michael Tisserand Genre: Non-Fiction, Biography Release Date: December 6, 2016 Synopsis (from Amazon): In the tradition of Schulz and Peanuts, an epic and revelatory biography of Krazy Kat creator George Herriman that explores the turbulent time and place from which he emerged—and the …

Continue reading

Off To Be The Wizard (Magic 2.0 #1) by Scott Meyer, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: Off To Be The Wizard (Magic 2.0, #1) Author: Scott Meyer Genre: Fantasy, Science Fiction Release Date: March 18, 2014 Synopsis (from Amazon): Martin Banks is just a normal guy who has made an abnormal discovery: he can manipulate reality, thanks to reality being nothing more than a computer program. With every …

Continue reading

The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: The Phantom Tollbooth Author: Norton Juster Illustrator: Jules Feiffer Genre: Fantasy Release Date: 1961 Synopsis (from Amazon): For Milo, everything’s a bore. When a tollbooth mysteriously appears in his room, he drives through only because he’s got nothing better to do. But on the other side, things seem different. Milo visits the …

Continue reading

Ready Player One by Ernest Cline, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest  Introduction Title: Ready Player One Author: Ernest Cline Genre: Science Fiction, Dystopia Release Date: August 16, 2011 Synopsis (from Amazon): In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to …

Continue reading

The Ghost in the Crystal (School of the Ages #1) by Matt Posner, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterest Introduction Title: The Ghost in the Crystal (School of the Ages #1) Author: Matt Posner Genre: Urban Fantasy Release Date: August 13, 2010 Synopsis (from Amazon): Ghosts, elementals, time travel, magic duels, teen romance, sacrifice, and ultimate loss… Simon, thirteen, is drawn by surprise into America’s greatest magic school: New York City’s School of …

Continue reading

Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) by Rachel Aaron, Books for Boys Review

Share:FacebookTwitteremailTumblrPinterestIntroduction Title: Nice Dragons Finish Last (Heartstrikers #1) Author: Rachel Aaron Genre: Urban Fantasy, Dystopia Release Date: July 13, 2014 Synopsis (from Amazon): As the smallest dragon in the Heartstriker clan, Julius survives by a simple code: keep quiet, don’t cause trouble, and stay out of the way of bigger dragons. But this meek behavior …

Continue reading